Houston Day 3

This is the first day we are having breakfast at the hotel. It wasn’t the best, the coffee is awful!, but they do have that machine that you can make waffles with. I never really get tired of those things, they’re just fun. Katelin had some cute boys to look at during breakfast, so she didn’t eat a whole lot. And then….packing and then on the shuttle with our bags and off to the Health Museum!

Waiting for the shuttle

IMG_1730[1]

Every major city should have a Health Museum. I cannot even describe it so I will let the pictures do the talking.

And aren’t these kids’ creations so cool!

There was so much to see and do here. What an amazing place.

When I watched Katelin sittting next to the DNA molecule, I couldn’t help but be sad. So intricate a thing, and such a small thing to go wrong, and yet…sigh. And when I looked at the models of how birth occurs, I thought how she was just a normal baby once and a flood of emotions came over me as I remembered all the what ifs, the could’ve been’s, the should’ve been’s, the never going to be’s. I hate Rett Syndrome. I hate what it took away from Katie, what it takes away from other girls and boys, and what it took away from me and other parents. And I want some of it back, just some, please just even a little and that’s what we’re going to do! All of us together, the researchers, the girls, the parents, the many, many people who are looking after Katie and children like her.

But Katie didn’t have those thoughts, she just thought the whole place was cool. 🙂

Next stop…The Houston Museum of Natural Science, but wait!!! A phone call…….Ms. Lancaster you forgot your keys in your room! OMG! There I was all checked out, no way was I putting Katie in a cab to go back to the hotel. “Please, Please will you send the shuttle with them to the museum??” YES!! Very nice of them indeed. Hey, you’re bound to forget something, right? At least I had Katelin, ha ha.

For those of you who might want to go to this museum, if you want to see EVERYTHING, better go with tons of money, as some of the exhibits cost extra. Boo hiss! I paid extra for the Butterfly House.$50 for the two of us and that didn’t include the Planetarium, Egypt, Hall of the Americans, Faberge Exhibit and I know I’m missing more. I didn’t really like it, it was very much a “museum”, quiet, and very standoffish, and not much to catch Katelin’s interest, but there were some beautiful things.

But it was the Butterfly House that we liked best.

It took her awhile to really notice the butterfly 🙂

And then it was our time to fly. Bye Houston! It was a great visit and Katie was sad to leave you.

IMG_1882[1]

Tomorrow we find out for sure!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Houston Day 3

  1. Cheryl says:

    I have been following your blog each day and am enjoying it so much! Thanks and keep it coming!

  2. Rose & Renee says:

    Katelin,
    You have such an awesome Mom! I’m thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your trip.

Leave a Reply

