T-25 Musing 2

wild_mustangs_horses_yourcaringworksI wasn’t sure, when I sat down to type, what I’d be musing about today, but when I looked up at the title, I misread it as “Mustang”.

The wild Mustang, an American Icon. In 1971, the United States Congress recognized Mustangs as “living symbols of the historic and pioneer spirit of the West, which continue to contribute to the diversity of life forms within the Nation and enrich the lives of the American people.

I think hidden in all of us parents are wild mustangs, just waiting for our chance to break free of the corral that cages us all in. That’s how I feel, anyway. I feel like I’m jostling amongst a thousand,  we’re pawing at the ground like horses that can feel the electricity in the air of an impending storm. There’s a wild look in our eye, I’m sure mine at least, as it gets closer and closer. I can almost feel my chest about to burst. I sense we are all leaning against the fence, the sheer force of thousands of souls yearning to run free with our babes beside us. Those small fillies and colts, a little confused about all the commotion, but standing beside us, trusting us.

This fence is coming down, I can feel it and I know I’m not alone. The whole Rett world is pushing against it. The parents, the researchers, the children. It’s going to crumble. I can hear the thunder rolling in. Can you hear in Rett syndrome?? That’s the thundering of thousands ready to stomp you out, to break your fence and run free.

 

This entry was posted in Rett Syndrome, Trail to a Texas Trial and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

