The Eyes Have It!

Trail To A Texas Trial

Ask any parent of a Rett child and they’ll tell you…”I can tell she understands, I can see it in her eyes.”

Katie’s eyes are such a beautiful blue. They sparkle so. But, I don’t get to just admire them, I have to listen to them. I have to watch them, pay attention to a flicker she’s counting on me to catch and understand. A tall order, that’s for sure. Now I can go on and on about the technology that’s available that uses eye gaze-from low tech to high. There’s simple eyegaze, PODD books, iPads and tablets, Dynavox’s and Tobii’s. Katie has a Tobii. It uses infrared signals to track her eyes and actually speaks for her. But for most of the world’s Rett children, this technology is not available. So really, I just want to remind people, that just because Rett children can’t speak verbally, that doesn’t mean they aren’t speaking.

People can tell when…

View original post 270 more words

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

